Small Buffy Hiatus

I’ve really enjoyed Joss Whedon’s work over the years, especially Firefly and The Avengers, so I’ve found myself recently sucked into Buffy the Vampire Slayer, which I’d never seen and which has interfered with my web journal time.

I just finished the final season. Nice premise for closing the series, but I found the “chosen one” aspect reminiscent of midi-chlorians, with the same problem: why should being a Jedi or a Slayer depend on some preexisting condition that is out of one’s control?

Maybe I’m too influenced by Peak and its critique of humanity’s errant belief that talent trumps deliberate practice.

Leave a Reply

