Stealing the Focus

Adobe Photoshop is a big, heavy program with a large legacy codebase and thus it takes significantly longer than any other program on my laptop to load. It’s a useful, flexible, and stable program, so I don’t begrudge it the slow start. We can’t all be morning people.

My one gripe with the start up time is that Photoshop keeps grabbing the focus in Windows. That means if I start Photoshop and try to click back over to Firefox and finish reading an article while I wait, I’m out of luck because Photoshop keeps jumping to the top.

User experience lesson: software, like people, shouldn’t be self-centered.

Leave a Reply

