This Is the Best Day of My Life

This is the best day of my life.

Wedding day? Birth of a child? First kiss? What’s so special about today?

All of those were great days, and nothing particularly memorable happened today. I was deliriously happy on my wedding day, but I hadn’t even met my kids yet, and they taught me through their joy and laughter that I could be even happier.

Nothing unusual happened today. But today I have all my memories inside of me. Every day I get to spend time with family, friends, and colleagues, adding more and more richness to my life, making today the best day of my life. Tomorrow will be even better.

2 thoughts on “This Is the Best Day of My Life

  1. Zackery Reichenbach-Carr

    Thanks for sharing this post. Doesn’t seem to be a ton of positive information flying around in the internet ether right now. Was very refreshing to see this.

    Reply
  2. robertmulcahy Post author

    I wrote and published this before the election, and wasn’t even thinking about the elections at the time, but the sentiment in the post still holds. By chance, I’m reading a book about the senate confirmation trials of the first black man appointed to the Supreme Court. The book is a nice reminder of how far we’ve come in recent decades, and how much work is left to do. We all have to stand up to ensure we keep moving forward.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

