Engaging Webcast Presentation Checklist

Last post, I spoke of leading a workshop on presenting to clients and potential clients via webcast. One thing I told them is that audiences like leave-behinds. So I left them one.

Below is the checklist I created and shared. Keep in mind this checklist is focused less on instructional design principles and more on principles of presentation and storytelling. What would you add?

I should point out that the last three were almost directly from Michael Allen’s book, which I had just started at the time and which I found intriguing.

Webcast checklist
Map to the known
Am I confident that my audience has enough background knowledge to understand my content?
Have I reminded my audience what they know already, in order to help them map new knowledge to old?
Am I stopping to summarize frequently?
Am I using meaningful transitions from one point to the next?
Have I included any interesting or useful analogies?
Have I deleted any information that is interesting to me but probably not useful to my audience?
Am I starting my presentation off with a hook and/or a WIIFM (what’s in it for me)?

Avoid cognitive overload
Have I included any narrative elements (stories, whether real or hypothetical)?
Do I have an interesting structure that ties everything together?
Am I leaving my audience with one or two big ideas?
Am I using the minimum number of words on slides that I need to synch and launch?
Can I replace the text on any of my slides with visual displays of information (e.g., timelines for events, tables for contrast, flowcharts for process, graphs for data)?
Have I eliminated unnecessary graphics and clip art?

Maximize social presence
Am I ready to use my voice and my words to convey that I am emotionally invested in the topic?
Am I speaking in the first person in order to establish my expertise and interest (“I’m seeing a trend…” versus “There is a trend…”)?
For comprehension-based polling questions, am I using application-based questions rather than fact-based questions?
Have I included polling questions that ask for opinions on issues of interest to my audience?
Are there any shout outs I can make to parts of my audience (e.g., “I know there are a lot of people out there from non-profits; this next point will be especially relevant to you.”)?
Have I planned interesting transitions from one presenter to the next?
Have I run through my portion of the content out loud until it feels smooth and natural (may take six or more dry runs)?

Make it polished
Have I practiced sufficiently to be positive my portion of the webcast will absolutely take no more than my allotted time?
Do I have a plan in case something goes wrong and I have less time than I planned?
Am I including useful supplemental documents and/or a participant guide?

Big questions
What have I done to make my webcast meaningful?
What have I done to make my webcast memorable?
What have I done to make my webcast motivational?

Leave a Reply

